You are here

District business awards presented in Fort Frances

By Duane Hicks
Fort Frances Times

Nor-West Animal Clinic was named Business of the Year on Thursday night during the 17th-annual Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce business awards held at La Place Rendez-Vous.
This award, sponsored by B93.1 The Border, was presented by Deborah Emes and Dave Bishop.
The other nominees were:
•Taggs Source for Sports;
•Rainy Lake Tribal Contracting;
•Tompkins Hardware;
•Nickle Lake Lumber;
•Harris Hill Resort;
•Angler’s Pro Shop; and
•Rainy Lake Family Dental
Pamela Bujold of Greensides General Store in Devlin won the Customer Service Award (Individual). Sponsored by Good Impressions Printing, it was presented by Laureen Vandetti.
The other nominees were:
•Andrea Whittle (Taggs Source for Sports);
•Jordan Marsh (Canadian Tire);
•Joleen Pettis (Canadian Tire);
•Peter Winik (West End Motors);
•Krista Kellar (Citifinancial);
•Kyle Glowasky (KG Contracting);
•Jay McFarlane (Taggs Source for Sports);
•Marjory Boileau (TD Canada Trust); and
•Deborah Emes (93.1 The Border)
The Customer Service Award (Business), presented by Chris Benz and sponsored by TD Canada Trust, went to North Auto.
The other nominees were:
•The Bargain Shop;
•Greensides General Store;
•Fort Frances Times;
•RBC Royal Bank;
•Sunset Country Ford;
•Rainy Lake Family Dental;
•Drs. Wu & Kennedy;
•Lowes Furniture & Appliances;
•J.D. Junction; and
•Rocky Brown Auto Repair
Rosanne Farmer (Fort Frances Times) was honoured with the Employee of the Year Award (presented by Marlene Deschamps and sponsored by the West End Weekly).
The other nominees were:
•Rebecca Webb (CIBC); and
•Jay Caldwell (La Place Rendez-Vous).
Heather Johnson (RBC Royal Bank) was named Business Woman of the Year (presented by Inga Friesen and sponsored by the Professional Women’s Network).
The other nominees were:
•Grace Cridland (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers);
•Melanie Kozik (Living Art Emporium);
•Tonia Dolph (Northland Kitchen & Design Consulting); and
•Sylvie Matthews (Certified Holistic Heath & Life Coach)
Kirsty Sinclair (K.I.D.S.) won the Home-Based Business Award (presented by Mark Caron and sponsored by M.L. Caron Electric).
The other nominees were:
•Lisa Jodoin (Scentsy);
•Jay Caldwell (Snicklefritz Custom T-shirts);
•Tonia Dolph (Northland Kitchen & Design);
•Patty Jogenson (Soul Sister Reflexology); and
•Travis Glowasky (Studio Gibbous)
Kevin Webb (Webb’s Power Shack) was named Entrepreneur of the Year (presented by George Emes and sponsored by the Rainy River Future Development Corp.)
The other nominees were:
•Chad Jackson (Pro Shine);
•Inga Friesen (Inga Design);
•Jackie Lampi-Hughes (Energy Fitness); and
•Melissa Angus (Just for Fun Power Sports)
The Small Business Trainer of the Year Award went to Steve MacNeil (presented by Gerd O’Sullivan and sponsored by NCDS).
The other nominees were:
•Adam Jewell (ACO Electric); and
•Andy Peters (Peters Plumbing & Heating)
And finally, Jan Judson was honoured with the Tony Beyak Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award (presented by Cathy Emes and sponsored by the Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce).
The other nominees were:
•Robert Schulz;
•Leslie Danielson; and
•Monica Armour